Who Am I?

I wrote this while I was walking today. I do my best thinking when I am walking or running. Well, usually it’s running, but today it was walking.

Who am I? That is the age old question, isn’t it? What defines me? Well, I am a mother, a wife, a doctor, a runner, a swimmer, a writer. But are these things labels or are these the things that define who I am as a person?

i am me-2

How do I want people to describe me? I think that if someone just said that I was a doctor, then they would be missing so many amazing pieces of what makes me up. Same thing for any of those “labels” that I listed above. I LOVE all those aspects of what makes me who I am, but do they define me as a person? If I listed all those “labels” as to who am I, what does that tell you about me? Does it tell you that I inspire people? motivate people? That I am a caring person? Honest? What I can tell you, is that if I didn’t have these “labels”, I wouldn’t be as driven as I am, I wouldn’t have had the platform to stand up and motivate and inspire people. If I wasn’t a mother, I wouldn’t have been as driven to get myself in shape and set a good example to my children. It is because of motherhood, that I knew I had to work harder on my health. Exercise gave me the time I needed to decrease my stress, but not only that, it helped shape the person I am today. If I didn’t run, then I never would have thought about helping to push and motivate other people to exercise. If I didn’t help to motivate other people, I wouldn’t have thought about writing! It just amazes me how every aspect of my life feeds into one another and truly does make me a better person.

I am a better person because I am a mother. I am a better person because I am a wife. I am a better person because I am a runner and a swimmer. I am a better person because I am a writer- because it allows me to reach so many people, to help motivate and inspire them.

I-am-me

“Labels”, as people call it, aren’t that. They aren’t just words. I feel like they are the internal makeup of who we are as people. I LOVE my labels. Not only are they words, they are MINE, and MINE ALONE! I am not just defined alone by my parts, but as the summation of my parts. As a matter of fact, look out 2017, because there are more “labels” coming my way!!!

 

Author: runningmamaof3

I am a mom of 3 children and a runner. I only started running about 6 years ago, and to say that it has changed my life is an understatement. It is now my breathe of fresh air, my therapy, my sanity. Life as a working mom of 3 active children is extremely hectic so running is my outlet.

2 thoughts on “Who Am I?”

Leave a comment